‘The Freaks are a lonely band of misfits, trapped in a Victorian sideshow known as Plumpscuttle’s Peculiars. There’s Sheba, a kind-hearted, wolf-girl with an amazing sense of smell; Sister Moon, an ex-assassin; and Monkey Boy, hygienically challenged but nimble and quick-witted. Together they are a force to be reckoned with.

The winner of The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition 2011, Freaks is a richly imagined gothic mystery set in the grime of Victorian London.’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Freaks on the Chicken House website

The Blair Partnership (my agents)

Podkin One-ear

Podkin One-Ear is a legend: a fearsome warrior rabbit whose reputation for cunning and triumph in battle has travelled the ages. But how did he become such a mighty fighter? The answer may surprise you . . . When a travelling bard arrives at Thornwood Warren on Midwinter night, he is warmly welcomed. In return for food and lodging, he settles down to tell the tale of Podkin One-Ear – and soon the rabbits are enthralled to hear the story of how one lost little rabbit overcame the cruellest enemy imaginable, and became the greatest warrior their land has ever known.’

pod cover

Podkin One-ear is the first in a three book series, and is published by Faber in hardback this October.  Book 2, and the paperback of book 1, will be released in October 2017.